Agarwal and Pandey shine with the bat as Karnataka beat Meghalaya by nine wickets

Captain Mayank Agarwal’s 47 and Manish Pandey’s 42 helped Karnataka thrash Meghalaya by nine wickets in a Group C match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here on Friday. After electing to bat, the Meghalaya team could manage only 89 runs for eight wickets in the allotted 20 overs in which Larry Sangma scored 34 and Yogedesh Tiwary scored 22 runs. V Vijayakumar was the most successful bowler for Karnataka, taking three wickets for five runs in four overs.

Chasing this small target, Karnataka lost the wicket of Devdutt Padikkal in the fourth ball, who could not even open the account. But Agarwal and Pandey shared a 90-run partnership to give the team an easy victory. In another match, Kerala beat Haryana by six wickets. After deciding to field, Kerala allowed Haryana to score 131 for seven and then chased down the target in 19 overs with three wickets in hand.

In other group matches, Army defeated Arunachal Pradesh by nine wickets while Maharashtra beat Jammu and Kashmir by three wickets. The team of Arunachal Pradesh was reduced to 75 runs and this target was achieved by the army by losing one wicket. Jammu and Kashmir scored 175 for five with a half-century from Abdul Samad (55 runs). But Maharashtra achieved this target with three balls to spare, thanks to half-centuries from Rahul Tripathi (59 runs) and Pawan Shah (51 runs). Jammu and Kashmir bowler Umran Malik took four wickets for 27 runs.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button