Babar Azam of Pakistan became ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year 2022, won the title for the second time in a row

Pakistan team captain Babar Azam, who played match-winning knocks, stroke-play and individual approach in the year 2022, has won the Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in a row. Earlier, he was also selected as the captain of the ICC ODI team. Last year also, Babar was voted the best player in the ODI format.
Pakistan captain Babar Azam attracted everyone’s attention in the last year i.e. 2022 on the basis of his strong performance in ODIs. During this, he scored a total of 679 runs in nine matches at an average of 84. He also scored 5 half-centuries.
This year, he scored two consecutive centuries against Australia while three centuries were scored in a row. His third century came against the West Indies. Let us tell you that Babar Azam has been at the top of the ODI rankings since July 2021. Due to his strong form, it is clear that his reign can last for a long time to come.
These players have achieved 
Let us tell you that with this achievement, Babar Azam will join the special club of former Indian team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers. Before Babar Azam, these batsmen have also captured this award twice in a row. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the first batsman to become the best cricketer twice in a row. He was named the best player twice in the year 2008 and 2009. This time AB de Villiers became the player to receive this honor in the year 2014 and 2016. After him, in the years 2017 and 2018, Virat Kohli has also won this title twice in a row.
Ben Stokes achieved this feat
At the same time, Ben Stokes has been included as the Test Cricketer of the Year 2022 by the ICC. England team captain Ben Stokes scored 870 runs in Tests last year at an average of 36.25.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button