BCCI sacks Chetan Sharma-led selection committee

In a stern decision, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday sacked the four-member national selection committee headed by Chetan Sharma after the Indian cricket team failed to reach the final of the T20 World Cup in Australia. During Chetan’s tenure, the Indian team could not reach the knockout stage of the T20 World Cup played in 2021. Apart from this, she also lost in the final of the World Test Championship. Chetan (North Zone), Harvinder Singh (Central Zone), Sunil Joshi (South Zone) and Debashish Mohanty (East Zone) had short stints as national selectors.

Some of these were appointed in 2020 and some in 2021. The tenure of a senior national selector is usually four years and can be extended further. There was no selector from West Zone as Abhay Kuruvilla’s tenure ended. PTI had reported after the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting on October 18 that Chetan could be sacked. The BCCI on Friday invited applications for national selectors (senior men). The last date to apply is 28 November.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button