Binny elected BCCI President in place of Ganguly

Roger Binny, who was a member of India’s World Cup (1983) winning team, was elected the 36th President of the Cricket Board of India (BCCI) on Tuesday. He will head the world’s richest cricket board, replacing former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly. Binny was elected unopposed at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the BCCI here. Jai Shah was re-elected secretary for the second consecutive term. Apart from these two other office bearers who were elected unopposed include Treasurer Ashish Shelar, Vice President Rajiv Shukla and Joint Secretary Devjit Sekia.

Binny, 67, who has played 27 Tests and 72 ODIs for India, is taking over the post ahead of next year’s One Day International World Cup in India. However, there was no discussion regarding the election of the chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The next ICC chairman will be chosen during the board meeting in Melbourne next month. The result of the AGM on this issue was eagerly awaited but after the BCCI raised the issue in the political circles, the BCCI did not take any decision on it.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had recently appealed that Ganguly be allowed to contest the ICC elections after the former India captain was denied a second term by the BCCI as president. The ICC chairman will be elected during a board meeting in Melbourne next month, but it looks like Greg Barkley will continue in the role for a second consecutive term.

The deadline for nominations for the post of ICC chairman is October 20 and the chances of the BCCI to nominate its candidate for the post are slim. A state unit official who attended the AGM told PTI, “As far as India’s representation in the ICC is concerned, it will be decided by the officials. There was no discussion about the post of ICC chairman. Only the matters on the agenda were discussed.

Outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal found a place in the IPL Governing Council along with Avishek Dalmiya. Dhumal will be the new chairman of IPL. He will replace Brijesh Patel. “The General Assembly appreciated the work and efforts of the outgoing office bearers, the Chairman and members of the IPL Governing Council during their tenure,” the BCCI said in a statement.

MKJ Majumdar has been elected as the representative of the General Assembly in the Apex Council of BCCI. The general body also approved the first women’s IPL tournament which will have five teams and will be held in March. A source said, “How the teams will be sold and how the tournament will be conducted will be decided by the Governing Council soon.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button