No change in New Zealand squad for Test series against Sri Lanka

New Zealand have retained the squad for the two-Test series at home against Sri Lanka, which recently beat England by one run in the second Test in Wellington. New Zealand beat England by one run in the thrilling second Test to level the two-match series 1-1. There are no surprising names New Zealand Cricket (NZC) have named in a 13-man squad led by Tim Southee for the series starting on March 9. Young fast bowler Jacob Duffy, leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and injured fast bowler Kyle Jamieson have not found a place in the team.

The New Zealand team recently became only the fourth team in history to win Wellington despite following on. Apart from former captain Kane Williamson, the team’s batting will be supported by Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell and Will Young, while Tom Blundell will play the role of wicketkeeper. New Zealand’s pace attack against Sri Lanka will be led by Neil Wagner while Southee, Matt Henry, Blair Tickner and Scott Kuggeleijn will support him.

Defending champions New Zealand are out of contention to make it to the final of the World Test Championship, while Sri Lanka can keep their hopes of making it alive by winning the Test series 2-0. NZC also announced that they would play a three-match T20 International series against the United Arab Emirates in August. These matches will be played on 17, 19 and 20 August. New Zealand Test squad: Tim Southee (c), Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson, Will Young .

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button