Opposition meeting today on suspension of 12 MPs Rajya Sabha

New Delhi. In an unprecedented move, 12 opposition MPs of Rajya Sabha have been suspended from the House for the entire session. This action has been taken against the opposition MPs for allegedly misbehaving with the security personnel during the monsoon session of Parliament. Action has been taken 110 days after this incident, under which six MPs of Congress, two each from Trinamool Congress and Shiv Sena and one each from CPM and CPI were suspended for the entire session. suspension MPs Rajya Sabha

The incident, which happened on August 11, the last day of the monsoon session of Parliament, was unprecedented in many ways. For the first time, opposition parties alleged that marshals were called and MPs were beaten up inside the House. Opposition MPs also said that the marshals of Parliament as well as security personnel were called from outside. This was the first time that MPs had alleged of being beaten up inside the House. But half a dozen ministers of the government met the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha and complained about the opposition MPs.

It seems that the Speaker did not pay heed to the grievances of the opposition MPs and suspended the opposition MPs considering the complaints of the government to be correct. Another unprecedented development took place after the scuffle in the Upper House, when eight ministers of the government held a joint press conference and accused the opposition. Significantly, opposition MPs had tried to block the general insurance bill introduced by the government, which proposes to privatize all government general insurance companies.

However, 110 days after the incident, 12 opposition MPs have been prosecuted and suspended from the winter session of Parliament which runs from November 29 to December 23. Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh announced the names of the suspended MPs. These include six Congress MPs – Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, Ripun Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain and Akhilesh Prasad Singh.

The suspended MPs include Dola Sen and Shanta Chhetri of Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress. Apart from these, the names of Priyanka Chaturvedi and Anil Desai from Shiv Sena are included in this. CPM’s Elaram Karim and CPI’s Binoy Viswam have also been suspended. These MPs are accused of misbehaving with the security personnel of Parliament during the monsoon session. The second opposition had accused the MPs of assault and misbehavior with women MPs.

Read also Variant Omicron scared India too, head of Kovid Task Force said comprehensive policy of booster dose within 15 days.

Opposition meeting on suspension today

Opposition parties have opposed the suspension of 12 opposition MPs of Rajya Sabha for the entire session. On Tuesday, the opposition parties have called a meeting to consider this and formulate a further strategy. After the action taken in the Upper House, Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge has said – If the voice of those who raise their voice for others is suppressed, then it is like strangling democracy. We condemn it, all parties condemn it. We will have a meeting tomorrow to discuss the strategy ahead.

Read also Variant Omicron: India has issued new guidelines

Significantly, during the discussion on the Insurance Bill during the Monsoon Session of Parliament on August 11, there was a lot of uproar in the Rajya Sabha. Inside the Parliament, there was a fierce scuffle between the male and female MPs of the opposition and the marshals. On the uproar that day, Rajya Sabha Chairman and Vice President Venkaiah Naidu had said that whatever has happened in the House has defiled the temple of democracy. On the other hand, the opposition had also accused women MPs of misbehavior. The opposition had also submitted a memorandum to Vice President Venkaiah Naidu regarding this.

Shivam Bangwal

Shivam Bangwal is an India-based Entrepreneur. He is the Founder of Successful Startups like Youthistaan, People News Chronicle, Hitchhike TV & Branding Panther. Shivam has done his Master's in Computer Applications.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button