Punjab elections: Congress released the list of candidates, CM Channi and Sidhu will contest from these seats

New Delhi: Congress has released the list of candidates for 86 seats in the upcoming Punjab Assembly elections. Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi will contest from Chamkaur Sahib SC, while state chief Navjot Singh Sidhu will contest from Amritsar East. The party has also fielded deputy chief ministers of Punjab, Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa from Dera Baba Nanak and Om Prakash Soni from Amritsar Central, whom they already represent. The Congress has also fielded controversial Punjabi singer Sidhu Musewala from Mansa and Malvika Sood, sister of actor Sonu Sood, from Moga. Rajya Sabha MP Pratap Singh Bajwa will contest from the Qadian assembly seat of Gurdaspur, which is represented by Bajwa’s brother Fatehjung Singh Bajwa. (punjab assembly election)

also read : UP Assembly Elections: Priyanka Maurya accused of Congress’s campaign poster girl, denied ticket for refusing to pay bribe

40 percent seats given to women in Uttar Pradesh

The list was released after the names were approved in a meeting of the party’s central election committee chaired by party chief Sonia Gandhi on Thursday, January 13. The first list has nine women candidates, representing around 10 per cent so far. The party has given 40 per cent seats to women in Uttar Pradesh, where it is going to polls with a focus on women empowerment. The party has also adopted the formula of one family, one ticket while distributing tickets. Former PCC president and head of the campaign committee Sunil Jakhar will not contest the assembly elections and his nephew Sandeep Jakhar will instead contest from the Abohar assembly seat. Similarly, Punjab minister Brahm Mohindra will also not contest elections and will be replaced by his son Mohit Mohindra from Patiala Rural Assembly seat. All other sitting ministers will contest from their respective constituencies which they currently represent.

No announcement of candidate for Patiala Urban Constituency (punjab assembly election)

Punjab Finance Minister Manpreet Singh Badal will contest from Bathinda Urban, Public Works Minister Vijay Inder Singla from Sangrur, Water Supply Minister Razia Sultana from Malerkotla and Industries Minister Gurkeerat Singh Kotli from Khanna. Other ministers like Rana Gurjit Singh from his Kapurthala assembly constituency, Tript Rajinder Bajwa from Fatehgarh Churian, Randeep Singh from Nabha Amloh, Amarinder Singh Raja Waring from Gidderbaha and Pargat Singh from Jalandhar Cantt. The party is yet to announce its candidate for the Patiala Urban constituency, which was represented by former Chief Minister Amarinder Singh. The party will also soon announce its remaining 31 seats for the 117-member assembly. Punjab assembly elections are to be held in a single phase on February 14 and the results will be out on March 10. (punjab assembly election)

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button