The playoffs for the Qatar World Cup 2022 are drawn

Starting at 1:00 p.m. (Argentina time), the matches between teams from Asia, South America, Oceania and Concacaf will be defined, which will be played between June 13 and 14, 2022, while those of UEFA will be played on March 24 and 29. Qatar 2022

The playoffs for the Qatar World Cup 2022, those in which 12 UEFA teams will participate and in which selected teams from South America, Concacaf, Asia and Oceania will be involved, they will be raffled off this Friday at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland.

At the headquarters of the highest body of world football will be determined, from 13 in Argentina, the playoffs for Qatar 2022 in a format that will be different from previous World Cups.

The date of the playoffs between teams from Asia, South America, Oceania and Concacaf will be between June 13 and 14, 2022, five months before the World Cup, and this time it will be the only match with a neutral venue, preferably in Europe, while those of UEFA will be played on March 24 and 29.

In UEFA they already qualified directly to Qatar Denmark, Germany, France, Belgium, Spain, Serbia, Croatia, the Netherlands, England and Switzerland, with three places remaining to be defined among 12 teams.

Those dozen selected are the following: Portugal, Sweden, Scotland, Russia, Macedonia, Italy, Ukraine, Wales, Turkey, Poland, Austria and the Czech Republic.

The teams will be placed in three brackets of four teams with a single match semifinals and a final. In each zone there will be only one quota, for the winner.

The repechage matches will take place between March 24 and 29 and to make the match, UEFA determined that the six best seconds will be gathered in pot 1 and will play the semifinal at home, while the remaining six will occupy pot 2.

As for the other playoffs, in Conmebol, with Brazil and Argentina already classified for the World Cup, the fifth placed will win that right and Peru, Colombia, Chile, Uruguay, Bolivia and Paraguay are the candidates to occupy it..

In the Concacaf, the octagonal final that is being developed will classify the first three to Qatar, with the United States, Mexico and Canada being the candidates, and the one who will play the repechage will be the fourth and the favorite, if no surprises arise, will be Panama.

On the Asian side, the The final phase of the classification is made up of two groups of six teams each, the first two will be World Cup players (today they are Iran, South Korea, Arabia and Japan), the two third parties having to play a single match to define which will play the playoffs and currently they would be the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Australia.

Finally in Oceania has yet to play their tie, will begin in March, and in it will take part Fiji, New Caledonia, Samoa, Tonga, Cook Islands, New Zealand (the candidate), American Samoa, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea and Thaiti.

Shubham Bangwal

Shubham Bangwal Senior Journalist at People News Chronicle whose Special interest is in Politics, Crime, Entertainment and Technology news.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button