Uttar Pradesh Vijay Hazare in the quarter-finals after defeating Mumbai by eight wickets

Uttar Pradesh thrashed an inexperienced Mumbai team by eight wickets to enter the quarter-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament here on Saturday. The Uttar Pradesh bowlers, led by Shivam Mavi, bowled brilliantly to bowl Mumbai out for 220 on a batsmen-friendly pitch. Mavi took four wickets for 41 runs while Karthik Tyagi and Shiva Singh got two wickets each. In reply, Uttar Pradesh’s wicketkeeper and opener Aryan Juyal scored 82 runs in 103 balls. Opener Madhav Kaushik contributed 46 runs in 75 balls.

Captain Karan Sharma scored 42 not out in 38 balls. Uttar Pradesh won the match with 26 balls to spare. He will now face Maharashtra in the last eight. The Mumbai team went without Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sarfaraz Ahmed, who are with the India A team on the Bangladesh tour. Prithvi Shaw (10) and captain Ajinkya Rahane (26) also could not do anything special. Shams Mulani (51 off 70 balls) and wicket-keeper batsman Hardik Tamore (53 off 67 balls) shared a 103-run partnership for the sixth wicket. After the dismissal of Tamore, Mumbai lost the last five wickets within 23 runs.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button