What will KC Tyagi get in Rajya Sabha?

There are biennial elections to five Rajya Sabha seats in Bihar and a by-election to one seat. Two of the seats which are going to the biennial elections are of JDU. One seat is of former party national president and Union minister RCP Singh and the other is of Sharad Yadav, who is no longer in the party. The party will send RCP Singh to Rajya Sabha for the third time. JDU will not be able to claim Sharad Yadav’s seat as it has only 45 MLAs and BJP has 74 MLAs. Two other BJP MPs are retiring. Both Satish Chandra Dubey and Gopal Narayan Singh are BJP MPs and are retiring this year. So BJP will claim two seats and take two seats.

Janata Dal-U’s Rajya Sabha MP Mahendra Prasad alias King Mahendra has passed away recently. By-election will be held on his vacant seat and this seat will go to JDU’s account. JDU can send KC Tyagi to Rajya Sabha from this seat. Earlier, JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar had told him that if Sharad Yadav’s seat falls vacant and by-elections are held, he will get that seat. Sharad Yadav’s seat had also fallen vacant but his election got entangled in legal trouble. Now the seat has fallen vacant due to the death of King Mahendra, with two years’ tenure left. King Mahendra belonged to the Bhumihar caste and in Bihar the Tyagi Brahmins are considered Bhumihar-Brahmins. KC Tyagi was once a Rajya Sabha MP from Bihar. Therefore, by sending them to Rajya Sabha, JDU can give a message to its core vote. However, the role of the party’s national president Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh will be seen.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button