Brij Bhushan and son not part of voter list in WFI elections but son-in-law found place

Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh and his son Karan are not part of the voters’ list in the upcoming Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) elections but it is surprising that the list includes members who are not associated with the existing state units. As per the constitution of WFI, only the members of the executive committee of the states can be included in the voter list in the election. As per the WFI constitution, “the recognized body can nominate only a member of its executive committee to represent it in the election.” Anita Sheoran, who was on the list of witnesses in the sexual harassment case against Brij Bhushan, has been included as Odisha’s representative in the August 12 election.

Commonwealth Games 2010 gold medalist Anita, 38, hails from Haryana and works in the state police. Thus Prem Chand Lochab’s name is included as the representative of Gujarat when he is actually the secretary of the Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB). Also, in a surprising decision of the ad-hoc panel, after giving membership to Assam, the state has been given voting rights. A WFI source said, “How can an ad-hoc panel give membership to a state. This decision is taken in the General Council. It is difficult to understand how this decision was taken.” The source said, “It is a clear violation of the WFI’s constitution that such people who are not part of the state institutions have been nominated and approved in the voter list.”

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur had promised agitating wrestlers led by Vinesh Phogat and Bajrang Punia that no one from Brij Bhushan’s family would participate in the elections. Uttar Pradesh union president Brij Bhushan and his son Karan, vice-president of the state union, are not part of the election but Vishal Singh, son-in-law of the outgoing WFI president, will represent Bihar in the polls. Maharashtra and Tripura will not have any representative in the election. The returning officer rejected the claims of both the factions in Maharashtra, while Tripura has been derecognized since 2016. Two delegates from each state unit will be allowed to vote. Brij Bhushan, MP from Kaiserganj, Uttar Pradesh is facing multiple allegations of sexual harassment and is currently out on bail. He cannot contest elections as he has completed 12 years as an office bearer. According to the National Sports Code, the tenure of any office bearer cannot exceed 12 years. Now Uttar Pradesh will be represented by Prem Kumar Mishra and Sanjay Singh.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button