Hardik and Savita awarded the best hockey player of the year

Midfielder Hardik Singh and goalkeeper Savita Punia were on Friday adjudged the men’s and women’s hockey players of the year at a glittering ceremony here. The 24-year-old Hardik beat veteran Manpreet Singh and Harmanpreet Singh to win his fifth Balbir Singh Senior Player of the Year award. Hardik had performed brilliantly at the FIH World Cup in Odisha in January this year but could not play further in the tournament due to a hamstring injury. He scored 2.2 against Spain in the first match. He scored in a 0-0 win.

India were eliminated from the tournament after losing to Spain in the pre-quarterfinals. Under Savita’s captaincy, India won the FIH Women’s Nations Cup in December and made it to the Women’s Pro League. 25 to Hardik and Savita. 25 lakh and a trophy was given. The total prize money of the awards was more than two crore 70 lakh rupees. Hardik said, “This year has been wonderful. It is heartening to see your efforts being recognized like this. ,

Whereas Savita said, “I have no words.” We performed brilliantly as a team. Winning the first FIH Nations Cup was special for all of us. Hockey India also presented the 2021 awards as the ceremony could not be held due to the Corona pandemic. Gurbaksh Singh, a member of the 1964 Tokyo Olympics gold medal winning team, was presented with the Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award. He received Rs 30 lakh and a trophy as award. At the same time, Amit Singh Bakshi, a member of the Indian team that won the gold medal in the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, was given this award for 2021.

Current captain Harmanpreet Singh was voted the best defender of 2022. Savita also received the best player award for 2021 while Harmanpreet Singh was the best male player. Krishna B Pathak was adjudged the best goalkeeper for 2022 and Sushila Chanu of the women’s team was adjudged the best midfielder. Hockey India Dhanraj Pillay Award for Best Forward went to Vandana Katariya. All the winners were given Rs 5 lakh and trophy. Mumtaz Khan and Uttam Singh were adjudged the best emerging sportspersons. On this occasion, Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, Sports Minister Anurag Thakur and Agriculture Minister Narendra Tomar gave away awards to the players.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button