Roger Binny elected BCCI President, replaces Sourav Ganguly

Mumbai Roger Binny, a member of India’s World Cup winning team, was on Tuesday elected the 36th President of the Cricket Board of India (BCCI). He will replace former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly. Binny was elected unopposed at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the BCCI here. Jai Shah was re-elected secretary for the second consecutive term. Apart from these two other office bearers who were elected unopposed include Treasurer Ashish Shelar, Vice President Rajiv Shukla and Joint Secretary Devjit Sekia.

Also read: Team India will not go to Pakistan for Asia Cup! Jay Shah said – matches will be played on neutral venue

Binny, 67, who has played 27 Tests and 72 ODIs for India, is taking over the post ahead of next year’s One Day International World Cup in India. However, there was no discussion regarding the election of the chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The next ICC chairman will be chosen during the board meeting in Melbourne next month.

Also read: Comparing Manish Sisodia with Bhagat Singh is a lousy political act: Congress

A state unit official who attended the AGM said, “As far as India’s representation in the ICC is concerned, it will be decided by the officials. There was no discussion about the post of ICC chairman. Only the matters on the agenda were discussed.

People News Chronicle

People News Chronicle author account is for interns, who are just new to our news agency. They are taught basics of wordpress and publishing through this account.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button